Modern Times

Learning From Mina

What Are Animals Trying To Tell Us?

I’ve never had a cat as a pet before, and it is quite a different experience to owning a dog. Dogs, compared to cats, are quite expressive. Cats have their own ways, but in being more independent they are also less communicative.

What are animals trying to tell us? They're like our boss, they can't tell us, can they?

I guess I need to hone my abilities to perceive the subtle signs cats give to their owners. Dogs do things that humans find easier to understand, like jumping up and wagging their tails. But then, like cats, they don’t go around saying thankyou for a nice dinner. They just curl up in their basket and go to sleep.

It has taken me a while to learn what my cat needs. I was adopted, by the way, so I had no preparation for this whatsoever. Were I considering owning a cat, I’d have looked at some cat books, researched feline behaviour. As it was a scruffy fur clad skeleton with a friendly manner curled around my legs and hopped onto my lap to enjoy some human company. Were I in a cat sanctuary, this would have been my basic conditions for choosing a cat: does the cat like me?

Okay, it could just have been that it smelled my lunch and knew that some humans are a soft touch.

Well, that morning, I knew little about cats and never thought I’d need to know. By that afternoon I was in much the same position save that the need to know had a pressing urgency! Thankfully animals are not that demanding. I had a cat basket and some catlitter along with a litter bin, supplied by my ever reliable cat lover, Jasper. Meanwhile Mina found a suitable spot and made camp. On my scruffy gardening jeans.

Well, it was raining outside and the muck had been shifted, so I didn’t mind too much.

Animals Can’t Speak.

Which is where the problems started. I didn’t know what food she liked, and so tried dry tack, pate or the chunks of vegetable protein that cat food is generally made of. Some got eaten, some left. You must realize that Mina couldn’t tell me. What usually happened was that the sauce would be licked off and the rest left. And yes, I have discussed this with the vet, and her dentition is not in a good state. Nevertheless, even with the treatment she is receiving for this, she prefers the sauce to the chunks. I guess that’s just Mina.

So now, I make some extra sauce and dilute her food with it. Usually the plate is clear and Mina is making “I’m hungry noises” – and these noises are quite distinct from her other calls. Again, it took my deducing – reverse-engineering to use the modern patter – to establish what Mina was trying to tell me.

Dealing With Humans Who Behave Like Animals.

The point is as clear to me as it is pertinent for everybody to recognize. Because there are bosses – to choose but one group of people – who expect others to behave. Only there’s a problem. For you – and this is your boss – you will not be told what behaviour is expected.

For sure, your boss will have said a thousand times that good behaviour is expected, and will deem this sufficient. For the boss, it is quite clear what is and what is not expected, if for the only reason that what they are comfortable with is what they expect – and what makes them uncomfortable is what they do not expect. Black and white! It either is – or it isn’t.

The problem is that they can’t tell you what they expect. Just as with Mina, one has to deduce what it is that they want. Only unlike animals, humans have an ability to express themselves when they want – or are able to. The person’s ability to express themselves is a clear indication of the quality of their soul – and this is easiest to determine by way of a conversation. Any reticence on their part implies a ‘gap’ in their ability to express themselves. In its crudest form it manifests itself in people who only talk, or those who sit placidly and only listen.

But just because they usually behave like a docile bunny does not mean they will always act this way. Should you make a mistake – and you will not have been warned about this, because the person is incapable of expressing these things! When crossed, the human that is otherwise as docile as a rabbit turns into a tiger! Not only that, they can lash out with the same feline dexterity, and with the same damaging consequences of a powerul animal. Not that the boss will be aware of this; they’ll make excuses for what they did afterwards and relax with a cigarette and a stiff drink.

You’ll recognize one or two incidents like this in your own life, where others have mistreated you in this way. Not only is it a modern problem, it is a common one.

PANIC!!

The point is that in turning into a tiger, they also lose their conscious faculties. This need only be momentary – a flash of antipathy blinded them and they responded to this quite naturally” they acted out of fear. This is a state of being we describe as panic. Panic is where we cross the threshold without due training and everything becomes confused and threatening. This need only last microseconds, but in all cases, the forces of the subconscious overwhelmed the conscious.

The consequences of their act meant you lost your job means nothing to them…

… but everything to you!

However, if a person has not developed their consciousness soul, it is unlikely they’ll be thinking of you in any case. Results mean nothing to those trapped in the lower realms of their soul. The lower down they are trapped, the more like an animal they become – the danger for us is that, just like Mina, they can’t tell us.

The Boss’s Lizard Brain

Because we’re speaking of the lizard brain here, albeit in a larger and more diverse form than just the emigdala. The emigdala is the tiny bit of our brain that is common to all animals, and deals with getting on with life – it is also the realm where the fight or flight mode of life exists. Our prolbem in our modern world is that many people have allowed this mode of thinking to subsume other, greater parts of their ability to think. That is to say, where thinking ought to be colourful and diverse, it is monochrome.

This is the process that allows the Double to grow in size. Today, as mentioned earlier in the series on the Double, this is now beginning to erode areas that are both conscious and necessary for life itself. Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s diseases are an expression of the terrible consequences of this process.

Dealing With The Boss In Oneself.

If you have read any of the posts that concern the subconscious – or its manifestation, the Double – you will know that it is all but impossible to see. Leave alone deal with.

What one will see is its manifestation in other people. Only I warn you, please do not try to change them! They will fly into a rage as quickly as any docile bunny rabbit.

Sorry, that should read “tiger”. Is it my subconscious at work here ??

But do please consider what they are doing, for in doing so, one is both heightening one’s own awareness – and the result of this will be a few inner challenges that raise their ugly heads. This is what happens when one deals with one’s own subconscious. It is not pleasant and it does not yield results quickly. Nevertheless, becoming more aware will bring one first an awareness of all that is wrong around one. This was as true for me as it was for anyone else – thankfully I am now at a stage where other and far more subtle issues are at play. Some of them are rather nice.

3 thoughts on “Learning From Mina

  1. We do try hard to please our pets and our bosses. As I worked my way through college working many jobs and as I mostly did not like my bosses, I found the idea of the lizard brain interesting. Often bosses (at least in my experience) become bullies and nit pickers. They don’t ask for our opinions, they ask for our obedience. I do think lizard brain bosses helped me. If I had settled for a mediocre job, I might not have finished college.

    Like

    1. There’s a big difference between our pets and our bosses. After all, Mina couldn’t tell me what was wrong – your boss could, only wouldn’t (or was too fearful to). Believe me, a boss that can listen is a boss who will do better business than one who does not.

      I know of an American guy who regularly asks his staff to note anything they don’t like doing. Twice or three times a year, he gets them all together – it is a small and friendly firm – and holds up the jobs that don’t like being done. There is no mention of names, however. Just asking people if they would like to try that job.

      Can you think of a better way to keep staff busy, active and engaged? Nor will it come as a surprise that his profits improve substantially year on year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

