Beyond Newton · Mind The Gap!

Stirring The Horn Silica Preparation

A Subjective Look At Time.

Beyond Newton, Part 4.

Everything is ready to start stirring. Most importantly, there is tea. It's summer, and the best time to stir horn-silica is at dawn. The time is 5:30 am.
Everything is ready to start stirring. Most importantly, there is tea.

The part dealing with the subjective nature of time is below, under the subheading ‘Is Time The Same For All Of Us?’ click here. This will work for as long as it takes WordPress to remove my in-post links; WordPress are nice to my readers. (NOT).

Original post:

The horn silica preparation that is used in Bio-Dynamics, the toughest of all the organic certifications, was first described by Rudolf Steiner in 1924. Horn manure had been used for centuries, if not longer. The essence of the two preparations is that they were put into a cow’s horn and buried for a certain amount of time. There were other conditions too, but suffice it to say that after that time, they had been transformed by the same processes that help plants grow.

In describing the horn silica preparation, Rudolf Steiner said:

“So you dig out what has been exposed to the summery life within the earth, and now you treat it in a similar way. Only in this case you need far smaller quantities. You can take a fragment the size of a pea, or maybe only the size of a pin’s head, and distribute it by stirring it up well in a bucket of water. Here again, you will have to stir it for an hour, and you can now use it to sprinkle the plants externally. It will prove most beneficial with vegetables and the like.”

A Danish farmer I spoke to many years ago spoke of how the ‘warming’ effect of this preparation was to move his farm 300kms to the south!

Twenty minutes in and I am stirring energetically.
Twenty minutes in and I am stirring energetically.

So much for horn silica. It does work, but it does take stirring. Which is where, a few years ago, my problems started. I took out the glazed pot that I used for stirrings, filled it with fresh rainwater, found a suitable stick to stir it with and went to brew the tea. When the tea was made, I was ready to go!

Sitting on an old folding chair, I started stirring. Now, where I live, we have two local trains an hour and four inter-cities. In each direction. One local train had just gone by, which marked the half hour. So my reckoning was that as the second one passed me, it would be time to stop as my hour would be up.

So there I am, stirring and stirring. My tea drunk and I am still stirring. First one way, forming the funnel and then turning it in on itself to form a chaotic splashing before it forms itself into the reverse direction.

It felt like well over half an hour by the time I realized that there weren’t any trains going by. I became a little worried that there weren’t any, after all, in half an hour, there should have been two inter-cities travelling towards Utrecht. The length of time I had been stirring, it could only mean one thing: there had been a terrible accident!

So I whipped up the water so it was travelling quickly – because during the hour of stirring, the water may not lie still for even a moment! I quickly nipped inside the house to check the clock in my living room.

Five minutes had passed.

It felt like an absolute age!

I rushed outside again, having grabbed my mobile phone so as to tell the time. My goodness, did that time pass slowly! Each time I looked at my phone it felt like I had stirred for at least twenty minutes… but it was only five. The last five minutes was the worst of all. It looked as if it was done – because the water has a sort-of oily consistency to it. The horn manure water will even smell sweet. But then, it’s always possible that Rudolf Steiner would have noticed something even more subtle that happens in the very last minutes… so I wasn’t taking any chances.

So, at last, my hour’s work done, I could put down my wooden stick and collapse in a heap of nervous wreckage.

Now that I am a little more used to stirring for an entire hour, I usually reckon on not watching my clock before twenty minutes has passed – indeed this morning, it was thirty five. My appreciation of time had become more in line with reality.

Is Time The Same For All Of Us?

Which is the point of this post: because our experience of time is subjective. I know there are all the equations that tell us how quickly a pendulum will swing, but that has literally nothing to do with how one experiences the passage of that time. An acquaintance of mine suggested that everybody’s time was different – a fallacy of the first order! After all, if each of us did have a different time within us, it would be like having a car with each of the wheels going at a different speed.

Imagine a train where the driver is bored and his time is slow, for the person glued to their iPhone, the time goes quickly because they’re absorbed in what they’re doing. If this man was correct, then the person with the iPhone would arrive in Utrecht before the train driver himself.

Time passes at the same rate for us all – give or take the minutest fractions that Einstein was able to calculate. His calculations are correct, his reasoning – being based on Newtonian science – were flawed. Just because something appears to work in this material world according to the equations does not mean that this is the reason why it works. All the mathematics can tell us is that the calculation is correct.

So, since few of us travel at speeds even approaching 1/1000th the speed of light, we aren’t going to be bothered with minute aberrations of that kind. Thus, for us all, the clock ticks at the same speed – well, given that it’s not running fast or slow – but our experience of time is dependent not on the pendulum, but on our frame of mind.

And there’s nothing the physical scientist can do about it!

Relativity Says That Time Is Changeable, But Not The Speed Of Light.

The point of this series isn’t to disprove modern science as such, because within certain limits, the material scientist can prove certain phenomena occur. What I wish to establish is the fact that the subjective world is as real and as important as the material world. I can understand the scientist saying “that’s subjective” – because I’ve had it said to me on no few occasions when discussing things like this. The reality is that saying “that’s subjective” doesn’t actually tell us anything. All the scientist is doing is saying that he can’t nail it to the floor in order to be able to measure it.

Just because you cannot calculate your own subjective experience of time does not mean it doesn’t exist. Because it does and there are no two ways about it! We’ve all had the screaming kids in the back seat wanting to know when we’ll get there because they’re bored. Even scientists experience this… well, if they’ve got kids, that is.

In further posts in this series I want to establish how one can deal with the things we experience subjectively in a rational and reasoned way. Because the scientist saying “that’s subjective” isn’t going to get us anywhere, is it?

Now, that took twenty five minutes to write and felt like five… ahem!

Other Posts In This Series:

Part 1: Experiencing Time First Hand.

Part 2: All Hard Drives Look Alike.

Part 3: What Ahriman Wants. (Published privately).

Part 4: Stirring Horn Silica.

Part 5: A Horn Silica Rainbow.

Part 6: Messed Up Beans. (Published privately).

Part 7: Newton’s Rainbow.

Part 8: Untangling The Astral And The Etheric. (Published privately).

Part 9: How To Count Water.

Please note that privately published posts are available to trusted friends without cost. The content is not intended for the general public and is restricted to those who can demonstrate that they understand the nature – and implications of – Rudolf Steiner’s scientific thinking. It is not for the unready.

In certain circumstances, pdfs of these posts are available on request; you may do so by leaving a comment. This will tell me if you can grasp the nature of the post you are enquiring about. The comment itself can be left unmoderated or deleted if requested.

 

 

Leave a Reply

