Modern Times · The Secret Of Systems

I Admit It: I Made A Mistake.

The Secret Of Systems, Part 10; The Monochrome Intellectual, Part 8

Warning: contains bad language.

As you will know if you read one of my previous posts, when it came to renovating my bathroom, they gave me a choice of three tiles for the wall. That is to say, a white tile, another white tile and a third one. Not much of a choice, but that’s the kind of choice one gets when a corporation is run by the brain-dead. From childhood onwards they never had a choice in anything they did, why should they even think of it in later life? Since this has become an ingrained habit in their thinking, this is now all they are able to imagine.

Well, the surveyor of the building firm phoned me to ask if I wanted a new kitchen. I responded that when I had declined it the last time, I was told in no uncertain terms that I would never be allowed another one. Ever. Period. Full Stop. It’s the kind of petty threat used by people who only want you to do what they want you to do. Suffice it to say, the surveyor chappie wasn’t too pleased when I refused him. He went on to say how we’d had an ‘adult’ discussion when we’d spoken about the bathroom. Such ‘adult’ discussions meant that I agreed with everything he told me, and made no objections.

This is ‘adult’ in Dutch terms: that is to say, they think they mean adult when they actually mean imbecile.

The point was that he was deeply upset that I had refused.

He must have felt awful that somebody wasn’t taking a freely offered hand-out. But then, he’s part of the system. The Dutch system. If you’re inside a system it’s highly likely that you aren’t aware of the fact. Click on an Adwords link and you’ll be choosing what you want to do and navigating their website. What you won’t be doing is thinking that you are inside a system. It’s how systems are: they’re kind of invisible save if you’re designing one. This surveyor was as unaware of the system he was in as most people are of the Adwords algorithm when they’re inside it. He’s been part of this system since birth, hence he can think of no other way to act. Again, we have the habitual thinking patterns – and patterns of this kind lead to mental decay of one kind or another.

He wasn’t happy with me.

Now, the other day I was chatting with my neighbour and she mentioned that she’d spoken to this ignorant twat surveyor as well. Only she wasn’t so polite as I had been. She gave him the Full Monty, so to speak, and the air must have turned blue from the vitriol in her voice and the words she used.

That surveyor must have been one very unhappy bunny that day.

They have almost finished my bathroom, by the way. The white tiles are acceptable, the floor tiles are not up to British standards. There are pipes sticking out of the walls, when I was assured that they would all be safely tucked away. Tomorrow they’re going to paint the thing white just to remind me that I have no choice in the matter whatsoever.

The only choice I got was to say if it could be done or not. My mistake was imagining that they’d listen to me, listen to my needs.

Like fuck they did.

Everything from the colour of the tiles to the colour of the paint was down to the corporation. When I asked the foreman that I would like to do the painting myself I was told in no uncertain terms that the housing corporation insisted on fucking up my nice paintwork.

Because that’s what it will be.

I don’t need some Dutch slapper daubing paint over my walls. Rubbishy Dutch paint at that. Paint that doesn’t stand moisture, what’s more.

When none of the tradesmen give a fuck about their work, is it surprising that the people they are serving are a little upset with them when all they can do is say “Stalin the corporation ordered it.” There’s no answer you can give to this when Stalin the corporation have made all the decisions for them and they can do fuck all about it.

They have jobs to keep.

I have to live with the fact that I agreed to allow these men to do this. It’s not as if it looks that bad, really; it’s the manner in which they did it that left smelly brown stains on the walls.

My other neighbour, across the passageway, had simply refused to have the work done.

The truth is: I wish I had refused.

Because I won’t be making that mistake again! Those guys really fucked me over, and I’m not letting it happen again.

Ever.

That poor bastard of a surveyor is going to find that more and more people upset him by refusing his offers.

So let’s get one thing straight: it wasn’t us who made him unhappy.

It was his need for reassurance that he is doing the right thing.

Therefore, those who go against him will erode his happiness. He wants to be right, and is being told that he is wrong. It doesn’t matter how few actually say ‘no,’ it’s that people say it at all. One is enough to dent his ego. All his life, he’s been setting himself up so that people can slap in the face just by protecting themselves.

The unhappiness he sows all around him will come back to him and make him the unhappier still.

It’s how systems work.

 

The Secret Of Systems, Links To Other Parts In This Series:

Part 1: How Can Lidl Be So Cheap?

Part 2: All Hard Drives Look Alike.

Part 3: A Different View Of Karma. (Published Privately).

Part 4: The Value Of Money.

Part 5: Google’s Panda Algorithm. (Technical)

Part 6: Thomas Hardy And Friedrich Nietzsche. (Published Privately).

Part 7: That’s Not Fair Play!

Part 8: Confessions Of A Lapsed Adwords Jockey.

Part 9: When The System Bites Back.

Part 10: I Admit It: I Made A Mistake.

Please note that privately published posts are available to trusted friends without cost. The content is not intended for the general public and is restricted to those who can demonstrate that they understand the nature – and implications of – Rudolf Steiner’s scientific thinking. It is not for the unready.

In certain circumstances, pdfs of these posts are available on request; you may do so by leaving a comment. This will tell me if you can grasp the nature of the post you are enquiring about. The comment itself can be left unmoderated or deleted if requested.

 

 

The Monochrome Intellectual. Links To Other Parts In This Series.

Part 1 <h1>Code Is Poetry.</h1>
Part 2 Vincent Van Gogh: Enclosing Reality On Canvas (only published on my private blog)
Part 3 Kazimir Malevich: Supremus 1915-16.
Part 4 Decision Making Without A Net. (Only published on my private blog)
Part 5 It’s Cold Out There! Blue as a Phenomenon. (Only published on my private blog)
Part 6 Reverse Engineering The Guru.
Part 7 Leeks For Dinner!
Part 8: I Admit It: I Made A Mistake.

3 thoughts on “I Admit It: I Made A Mistake.

  1. “So let’s get one thing straight: it wasn’t us who made him unhappy.

    It was his need for reassurance that he is doing the right thing.”

    This is Rose in a nutshell.

    Like

    1. And she’s as unhappy as that poor man, isn’t she? And for the same reasons.

      That thought came to me as I was writing the post, by the way. I hadn’t thought of that angle before.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

