Our Subconscious

Coming Clean On The Subconscious.

There are well over a dozen posts on the topic of the Subconscious, and twenty on my private blog. Yet in all of them I haven’t discussed the subject directly. However, there was a purpose in this: none of us can perceive our subconscious in any way. My rambling around the subject has been on account of this problem: putting the situation backwards meant that it’s been possible to describe the outward manifestation of the subconscious without speaking about it directly.

After all, nobody can see it, so speaking about it directly will imply that I am stark raving mad. Well, no few people think that already; the problem being that in telling me that I am mad, they inevitably demonstrate the nature of the subconscious. They do this by hanging themselves with their own rope (1).

Isn’t this the point, though? They don’t know they’re hanging themselves with their own rope! They think they’re being honest and truthful, yet they are telling downright lies – lies that are as clear as day to any person who can truly think.

The Subconscious Expressed In Today’s Society.

Our problem today is that people who can truly think are far from common; it is always a delight to meet them – and a commenter this morning is amongst them. There is a clear distinction between such a person and the kind who jump to conclusions about the state of my mental health: the former asks themselves the question, “have I understood this properly?” The latter says, “you are wrong.” They don’t ask themselves why I am wrong, all they do is say that I am. You will have noted that these people rarely give any qualifications for the things they’ve said, they’ll just tell you bluntly that you are wrong, mad, or whatever. They don’t need to justify themselves because it’s obvious to the entire world…

… isn’t it?

Which is where the subconscious plays its part: they have one point of view and cannot imagine any other. Which brings us to an important point: they cannot imagine any other point of view and the world they live in appears to agree with them at every turn. If the appearance of their world is such that it meets their needs in every way imaginable, is there any need for them to ask any questions?

No.

They do not need to ask themselves if they are right, because it’s perfectly obvious: the world is as it is, dummy. Can’t you see it? Just look around you, and it is exactly as they describe it. Only most people don’t go around describing their world because they don’t need to: if they see the world in this way, it’s obvious that everybody sees the world in this way.

And everybody who disagrees with them is wrong.

To those of you who have followed my line of thinking thus far, you will have noticed something: these people are always right. The author A. E. van Vogt described this phenomenon, but it’s a very long time ago that I read it, and at that time I didn’t have the capacity to determine if he understood the subconscious or not.

The Subconscious As A Concept.

There can be no proof for the subconscious. Anybody who wants proof is asking for the world to dance to their own tune; put the other way around, demanding proof implies that a person is not going to think a problem through in a manner that will reveal to them the nature of the subconscious. It can only be done in this way because it is impossible to perceive in any shape or form.

Anybody with the power of self-reflection has the capacity to develop an understanding of the subconscious. However, the world of humanity as it stands today stands in direct opposition to its development. Any nascent glimmer of self-reflection will be met with opprobrium from every quarter. Today, it is only the strongest minds or the luckier ones who will survive to develop the things self-reflection has to offer. Were I born today, and born into the circumstances I was born into fifty years ago, I too, would have failed to develop this understanding.

I have an upcoming post that will describe the life of a very lucky young woman.

How Can You Become Aware Of Your Own Subconscious?

This is something I have spoken of in the past; it is inherent in the nature of the subconscious that it will affect our lives. Whether we accept its existence or not: life is not so easy as many people imagine.

I want now to consider what a person experiences when they tell me that I am mentally imbalanced. The first aspect – that of not their inability to understand what I am saying to them – has been dealt with already. The second aspect is what leads them to speak in this way at all. This is far more important because it points not only to the nature of the subconscious but shows us how we can deal with it.

When someone says that I am mad, they are telling me that they do not wish to understand the things I say. There is more to the situation than their unwillingness; were it but unwillingness, I could work with that. What I cannot work with is the wall they put up in front of me. They will deny me the ability to speak, or, if they do, will limit the conversation to the things they are comfortable with. I described this in a post about conversation (2).

In a conversation with such a person, you will always find that if you try to stray outside their ‘comfort zone’ they will act – that is to say, speak – in such a way as to deny you. They will turn the conversation back towards that with which they are comfortable; at worst, they will throw their coffee in your face out of pure frustration.

The point here is that they cannot deal with anything that lies outside the things they are comfortable with in their life, their comfort zone. Anything else is wrong. That does not mean it doesn’t exist, it does mean that they are unwilling to deal with it. The reason for this is twofold: firstly they don’t have to and secondly it arouses feelings of discomfort.

Those are enough for any sensible person to back off.

The problem today is that this is what we actually need to engage with: we need to deal with things that make us feel uncomfortable. One example is my commenting on economics blogs, where many men feel uncomfortable that a woman should be speaking about something they understand – and the moreso when I can show them how to do it a little better.

That doesn’t mean that I’m wrong because they don’t understand me, it does mean that they are unwilling to. They are unwilling to admit to the realities that I have uncovered for myself because it is a direct threat to their own safety, their own comfort zone. (3)

How To Work With Your Subconscious.

If you are to work with your own subconscious, you are going to find yourself very much on your own. The number of people who are ready and willing to do this are extremely small; if you meet just one in your life, count yourself lucky.

The point here is to employ one’s ability to reflect on one’s own actions. This in itself will bring one to the awareness that a certain situation that makes you feel uncomfortable is actually something you are seeing yourself that isn’t actually intended by the person you are engaging with.

It is important to note that this will not happen often, but when it does, examine yourself closely in relation to the circumstances that brought it about. Because, armed with this knowledge, you can engineer this situation for yourself should certain circumstances allow this. Now: because you are fully aware of what you are doing, if the situation develops to a point where you really cannot handle the discomfort, you can back off very quickly. You cannot do this if circumstances have brought this upon you.

In being fully conscious of what is happening around you, you are then able to determine what it is that has upset you. I will guarantee you this: it will be trivial. Well, this is something you can now put right, and in doing so, open a facet of the world that you had no idea existed.

Engaging in this will give you more confidence to deal with the other things that make you feel uncomfortable. This confidence will give you more strength to deal with these situations, and you will become happier to engage with others, irrespective of their points of view. They may not be so happy to engage with you, but that’s life. At least you will have a measure of human happiness. Something that in our day and age is in short supply.

Notes:

(1) This is discussed in more detail here:  Why Is It Always Me That Has A Mental Disorder?
(2) Conversation In Goethe’s Time And Ours.
(3) The deep lying fears that promote such reactions has been discussed in my post, Milena Sees Witchcraft Everywhere.

20 thoughts on “Coming Clean On The Subconscious.

  1. I loved this one, you really laid it out all in one place. One thought kept passing through my mind for the first half of your post – “Ted Wrinch, Ted Wrinch, Ted Wrinch…” Thinking on my conversations (so-called) with him is excellent study material.

    A second thought entered my mind near the end – “I’ve been doing exactly this since I was a teen, to some extent, and my new relationship is practically tailor made to help me along in this process of self-reflection.”

    It’s stunning to think that ALL of these issues are simply the result of a love of comfort. It’s so SMALL a thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is small, but it’s only small when you have faced down the fear (you know what I’m referring to here, don’t you? – Remember my post about cats?)

      To anybody who has no experience of facing their own fears will have no conception of how easy they are to overcome. Ted Wrinch is an extreme example, but he’s not alone, is he? There was a comment from a half-baked head called Metwetwe – since spammed – who is just like the Wrinch, and displays all the same characteristics.

      You can always spot them: they need to be identified as an authority, then they can function. That is to say, their comfort zone needs to be recognized and pampered… the very thing that works against them!

      Even so, if someone doesn’t get it, they can be a hair’s breadth from the truth – but to them it might as well be on the moon. The ‘Gap’ has never been wider.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It has nothing to do with ‘comfort zone’ the fact that other bloggers (as well as myself) have removed your comments or blocked you from their blogs. The fact is you are often rude, critical and disingenuous to other people’s work. You may have interesting and valid things to say but acting as a super ‘know it all’ without interacting politely just gets you nowhere…

    Here’s an analogy:
    I spend time choosing a car and park it outside where I live (my blog post)
    You knock on my door and say ‘I ‘like’ your car can I ask you about it?’
    Then yes, the conversation opens…
    But what you do is turn up to see my car, spray graffiti on it and say ‘what are you going to do about it…’

    Like

    1. If you understood the subconscious, you would understand why this has to do with the comfort zone.

      I know that on occasion I can be rude: but that is only when a person has already shown me that they cannot hear. What I learned was that they are utterly unaware of having done this.

      I assure you, being nice to such people has no real effect, a person cannot be aware of their unconscious sympathies before they are aware of their antipathies. They will not notice the nice things I say, they will not notice the times I polished their motorcar, but will take immediate affront at the first mistake I make.

      Nine times out of ten the person I am speaking with tells me, “you are wrong.” Just as you have done.

      I have mentioned why people say this to me. Why have you said it?

      Like

  3. Comfort zone aside, I just tried to give you a picture of how your comments can be experienced, not all but some of them….
    Above you have said –
    “I know that on occasion I can be rude: but that is only when a person has already shown me that they cannot hear. What I learned was that they are utterly unaware of having done this.”
    How can you make such judgements on people you’ve never met or know? And does it really matter if they are unaware? Being conscious of how we interact with people personally and on social media regardless of what they are like is our first responsibility. And it’s blogging world, if you don’t like someones posts just move on to another, I do…
    Anyway, I wish you a Happy Christmas.

    Like

    1. “How can you make such judgements on people you’ve never met or know?” How many times do I have to hear this? These exact words! Australia, America, Britain. You all say the same thing!

      Now: in speaking with people face to face, they say the same things are you are saying. They also say it for the same reasons as you do. If you’re all saying the same thing, and you’re all saying it for the same reason, it’s not hard to work it out and form a judgement.

      This isn’t rocket science.

      Now, if you are feeling judged, that in itself speaks volumes to anybody who knows me well.

      “And does it really matter if they are unaware?” How can you make a truly free decision if you are not aware? If you are unable to make a free decision, half of the world is closed to you.

      “Being conscious of how we interact with people personally and on social media regardless of what they are like is our first responsibility.” Who said my interactions were not conscious? But I will tell you this: some of yours are not.

      Your problem is that you cannot see them. Further to this, I did not write the above post because I cannot do these things, I wrote it because I can and it was intended to give clear information as to how to achieve this end. I will add that I had no instruction in this, I had to work out everything from first principles – and then add the task of trying to understand what I knew in terms of Rudolf Steiner’s anthroposophy.

      “And it’s blogging world, if you don’t like someones posts just move on to another, I do…” What good will that do? If someone shows the least potential to be able to deal with their own subconscious, I will do my utmost to reach out to them.

      What I cannot do is do their work for them, I cannot do anything more than hint at what must be done (especially on this public blog). If they aren’t interested, then eventually I will move off. But not before lobbing a few hand grenades: you never know what might wake someone. As mentioned, this point is arrived at long after having “polished their car”.

      As you can imagine, it’s a thankless task.

      I trust you will enjoy your Christmas too.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It is important to note that in my conversation with GC Photo Art that he clearly wishes me to see the world in the way he does.

    This follows what I said in my post: “if they see the world in this way, it’s obvious that everybody sees the world in this way.” Those who do not are wrong.

    He continues by defending his comfort zone in the way many others do, what’s more, uses exactly the same words! It’s as if they are all reading from the same page.

    The point here is that he thinks he has said this out of the fullest freedom.

    Fair enough.

    Now: it is entirely possible that he will rebuke me and tell me that I too have areas in my subconscious that need unveiling.

    And well I might.

    How can I know? Nobody can see into their subconscious.

    Which was the point of this post: to indicate how one might deal with this paradox, and do so in the real world. It is through engaging with others that one can unveil this, and it is through long years of practice that I have established the fundamental processes. As stated, this is not rocket science.

    I will add that doing this is something that will bring you the greatest joy and a feeling of true certainty in oneself. One may not know all that is hidden in one’s subconscious, that in itself is reason enough to speak with every single person one meets!

    And what does GC Photo Art do? He pushes me away. The result of this is that he finds it easier to say what others say. It is safer that way. But he will learn nothing by doing so. He will continue to say the things everybody else says – even down to the very punctuation.

    Why?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hi,
    I would just add some observations to this presentation, or explanation, of basic paradox of subconcious mind, some might call it “confirmation bias” or self-enforcing, self -explaining and self-maintaining bubble of interpretation etc.
    I would argue that phenomena is somewhat recognized accross disciplines such as psychology, orthodox or otherwise, but also most of the esoteric genre deal with it in one form or the other, through sophisticated high-end authors or otherwise.
    Eg. Gurdjieff or Castaneda come to ones mind with conceptions of “buffers”, false multiplied personas, human-automata aspects by Gurdjieff, or concept of “Island of Tonal” developed by Castaneda.
    From more actual authors I woudl recognize efforts of Scott Adams (author of Dilbert) who develops interesting points of view on his blog about power of persuassion and similar. This just as an example of what conceptions and limits to understanding contemporary smart but materialistic-minded people could develop.
    Anyway, I think all this talk about mechanics of mind/soul/brain/neurological comfort zone should be complemented at some point with the very concept of Truth as such.
    That just to avoid ending in purely psychological considerations in some wellness/pathological sense of the word. Somehow, we should not forget that, after all, it is all about finding truthfull viewpoint. Making ourselves aware of our own blindspots and biases is crucial point, but nevertheless, it will not save as from the effort of developing/discovering thruthfull conceptions about world, universe and ourselves for that matter.
    I am pointing to that simply because I see some of the “materialistic” thinkers might develop quite sophisticated understanding of “mind-control” as purely competing of conncurent naratives and making sure desired one “wins”. So, against these “battlefield mind” strategies the only true shield is finding footstep in Truth.
    Cheers!!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your lengthy response.

      It is a very long time since I’ve read anything of Castaneda’s; his “Island of the Tonal” has the same ‘ring’ as the comfort zone. The esoteric terminology is outside the scope of this blog, but is far more specific. Rudolf Steiner employed this publicly, I choose not to because there are far too many who grab the terminology but not the concept that underlies it.

      As to Gurdjieff, I can explain in detail the nature of “multiplied personas” – but this must wait until Alex Sarll has expanded on her work. It may not be published publicly owing to the nature of the processes involved. I would suggest that his “human automata” would be something equivalent to the state we think of as dementia; the Dutch tradesman is another example, but here again we have a person who willingly accepts the processes that lead directly to early onset dementia.

      Now, you continue by saying, “Making ourselves aware of our own blindspots and biases is crucial point, but nevertheless, it will not save as from the effort of developing/discovering thruthfull conceptions about world, universe and ourselves for that matter.” My response is this: how can one become aware of the truth when one has blind spots?

      I assure you, those who are able to discern the processes that underlie various medical or psychological phenomena (amongst others) will have the capacity to ask themselves whether it is their blind spot that interferes with their thinking… or that of the other. In short, they are endowed with self-reflection.

      It is those who do not that wish to impose their own viewpoint on others – mind control is amongst the tactics they employ. That is a topic that I must explore in more detail, along with the issues that affect businesses. I will state that it is an extremely unhealthy practice to engage in. Those who engage in it are actively seeking their own mental destruction. The world we live in is formed out of the truth, and anything that works against that is asking for trouble. Not from the truth, but from the dispelling of their illusions. You arrived from Mr. Smith’s blog; you will find many illusions peddled there. I cannot help them for they prefer the comfort of their illusion to the harsh cold reality.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Now, you continue by saying, “Making ourselves aware of our own blindspots and biases is crucial point, but nevertheless, it will not save as from the effort of developing/discovering thruthfull conceptions about world, universe and ourselves for that matter.” My response is this: how can one become aware of the truth when one has blind spots? –
        what do you define as a blind spot? Surely it is only something which causes you to feel uncomfortable, for certain emotional/psychic reasons. We are only human, we are only so strong, and each of us is going to have people or issues which cause us to tense up and feel bad. That doesn’t detract from the fact that these is a massive, wide, wondeful world out there, and that the stars twinkle away at us from hundreds of thousands of light years away. The truth is always there, and I think it is glimpsed when one isn’t looking for it. Blind spots are unimportant, they are just the reflection or our own doubts and fears- once they are grasped they will only affect you when you’re feeling low or succeptible. I think it’s important to marvel at the mystery rather than beat around our own individual bushes of uncertainty!…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Now: for you as a relatively well balanced mind – your schizophrenia is more of a layer of insecurity – you can see that fears are not the horrible things that most people imagine. You have to see this from the other side, as it were. I get the impression that you still have to see the world from the point of view of somebody who really doesn’t ‘get it’. The point I want to make here is that when a person chances upon something that arouses a fear, that ‘something’ is not going to be trivial. It is going to be utterly monstrous.

        You aren’t going to get anywhere by assuming everybody has the ability that you do. I’ll tell you the truth: I can’t get through to these people. I wonder if you can – but I’m not going to stop you trying. Indeed, I’ll give you all the support I can; perhaps you can get through to them. In which case, you are looking at someone who will be inordinately grateful to you for achieving this.

        Like

      3. Also thank you so much for your promotion!! xx is rather disconcerting to have my name suddenly pop up amongst all these philosophers and thinkers!! But has rather made my day, so muchos muchos thanks 🙂

        Like

  6. Hmm.. I agree with everything in this post, except the fact that you say “it will be something trivial.” I can tell, from talking to you and from reading your blog, that you are very strong minded. I think that when people have uncertainty in their mind, with regards to themselves normally, or with their life or the way it has turned out.. they will avoid things that challenge them because a small part of them knows that they will not be able to reach a satisfactory conclusion, they will not be able to self-reflect, and come up with an answer which they can live with. Say one person pushes another on a subject, which might be trivial in itself,- the deeper implications of that disagreement may resonate with the second person long after the actual conversation- bringing up subconscious links and connections which occur in the unconscious and, a week later, might cause that person to wake up one day and not want to get out of bed. I think there are a lot of people who don’t push their own comfort zones because they know that if they did they’d end up feeling crappy, more than crappy because many of us are leading lives which, when looked at too directly, are not what we really want. So when something causes us to clam up, to retreat and refuse to engage with another person, it is because instinctively you’re moving away from something that could cause you pain. I do agree with you that self reflection is something that people should engage with more often, because it does teach you more about yourself, and it does mean that you are wiser, more perceptive, and living a more genuine, authentic life(moreover, and this is my real gripe, it means you aren’t taking your own issues out on the people around you without being aware of it, which is what often happens when people are unaware of the pitfalls and issues which exist in their minds.) But, it can be hard; when the risk is great. When people are not living authentic lives, pushing their own comfort zones can be terribly, terribly dangerous. I fear that I may be veering into horribly cynical, negative territory here, but I wonder if sometimes it is your whole world view that a person fears losing. That person may have a positive opinion of themselves, but only to a point.. Once they start asking certain types of questions they know that it will be affected.. most people have issues or concepts that have the power to knock the wind from their sails. Long answer lol.. but you already know that this topic interests me a lot!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You say, “That person may have a positive opinion of themselves” In no few cases, this positive opinion is based on a fallacy of some sort. The real positivity that one can find actually comes from interacting with others – the joy one gets from speaking with someone who truly listens and truly responds to the things you say is beyond the imagination. It is they who give one the courage, and it is in knowing they exist that one will always try to meet more of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Although, lol, thinking again.. I agree with you that these things ARE trivial.. i just think that it depends on how much you allow yourself to be affected emotionally, and I guess that will depend on you as the person, or merely what mood you are in on that day!! As you know, I am fairly up and down, and on a day when I’m feeling more fragile- the emotional affect that something can have on me will be huge. But on a day when I am more resiliant, I suppose, or just more upbeat and emotional/psychically(??) stronger, there will be less of an affect and therefore(as you just said)- the issue is trivial!! It simply depends how you are at that present moment. For me, if I am having a good day, my emotions will be less whipped into a hurricane- on a bad day, certain thought processes and implications will be able to knock me off my feet. What is important for ME, now I think, is to be able to consider emotions, and my emotional reponses, whilst simultaniously realising that they are trivial..! THEN they don’t turn all hurricane Katrina on me.. So perhaps the key is knowing yourself well enough to know what your potential trigger points are, and then, over time, learning how to manage these so that you’re not affected, or not so inclined to simply retreat from a situation or a conversation that challenges you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A friend of mine has just found himself alongside a new girlfriend. Whilst she wasn’t mentally ill in the medical sense, she is sensitive and her moods do swing. His moods are so stable that she can do practically anything she likes to him and he just shrugs it off. That level of stability will eventually tell her that she does have someone who cares for her in a way that is beyond her expectations. That’s when her skittishness becomes the impulse for them both to do something crazy for a day – and they’ll both enjoy it.

      I get the impression that you have someone like this too. Give him time, and give yourself time. The gifts you have for each other are worth waiting for.

      When you say, “So perhaps the key is knowing yourself well enough to know what your potential trigger points are, and then, over time, learning how to manage these so that you’re not affected, or not so inclined to simply retreat from a situation or a conversation that challenges you.” It means that you can retreat if you need to: if you feel a hurricane brewing, stop before it overwhelms you. The next time you’ll know a little more about how it works within you. Coz I’ll tell you this much: it’s still a mystery to me, right now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

