Uncategorized

Why, the phrase”I hear voices” is woefully inadequate in summing up the horrendous nature of mental illness (1)

I would like to draw your attention to an excellent article that expresses the realities of what mental illness feels like.

My own blog deals with issues far more subtle; but any one of them could lead to a point where people are no longer able to handle their own lives. In this respect, I regard this young lady’s attempts at expressing the things she’s gone through as being some of the most important writings on the internet.

The things she has suffered are things we – that is to say, the majority of people alive today – will suffer. And I mean suffer Because if we carry on in the casual and irresponsible way we are today, that is where it leads.

A mad new world

I am lucky enough to have a friend who has the same diagnosis as me. (Lucky in the sense that it means that I have someone to share my experiences with, not because it gives me a really broad and diverse spectrum of people I can claim to be close to).

Anyway.. she has had the same kind of experiences that as I have had; not entirely the same, because no two peoples experience of mental illness will be identical, but similar enough that when I start ranting about crazy stuff, she can follow what I’m saying.

With her I can talk about absolutely anything. There is nobody else with whom I could be so candid and so in depth about my symptoms and my bad days, most people would be lost at the first “tic, voices, triggered, frustration, memory, tic” loop; most people would be left wondering what the…

View original post 909 more words

One thought on “Why, the phrase”I hear voices” is woefully inadequate in summing up the horrendous nature of mental illness (1)

Leave a Reply

