Mind The Gap! · The Comfort Zone

Why, the phrase”I hear voices” is woefully inadequate in summing up the horrendous nature of mental illness (3)

I shared something from Alex Sarll the other day, this is part three. It is an exploration of what I came to call “The Comfort Zone”. Her problem was that she couldn’t find hers.

Well, now she can. It’s cost her a very great deal; at least she got there in the end. Actually, given that she’s in her 30s, she got there in time to begin…

A person’s challenges are equal to their ability to meet them.

(Continued from part 2..) It’s like there is a web of fears, doubts and terrors shrouding your positive mind, and once something tips your train of thought over onto the lines of that …

Source: Why, the phrase”I hear voices” is woefully inadequate in summing up the horrendous nature of mental illness (3)

13 thoughts on “Why, the phrase”I hear voices” is woefully inadequate in summing up the horrendous nature of mental illness (3)

  1. Huge sympathy for Alex. A friend of mine suffers periodically with similar symptons. He withdraws ino himself and simply cannot face day to day tasks. Sometimes this can last for a few weeks at a time. I believe he calls it Bipolar disorder Churchill called it his “Black dog”….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not facing day to day tasks is why I have a book to write; albeit that I think it’s more laziness on my part!

      Quite where Bipolar meets Schiz isn’t yet within my capabilities to discern; more importantly, are you able to help him when he needs it? Even if he says ‘no’? I mean, we all suffer this kind of thing from time to time, it’s part of life. It’s when it literally overwhelms you that the problems start.

      Alex, as you’ll have read if you followed the link, was in hospital for a decade. That isn’t fun.

      Like

  2. Agreed a decade in hospital is no fun. As for my friend – yes I’m there to listen and to chat like an animated budgie without expecting a response. That and coffee usually gives a short period of respite for which he is grateful.

    You may be interested to know that I kept a copy of a letter from my prospective publishers offering me a £1000 advance way back in the early 1990’s to write a book on a technical subject. I couldn’t imagine anyone would want to read it. I couldn’t imagine me writing it so I politely declined. Still it was flattering to be known as an almost author.

    So what is the subject matter of your book Gemma?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad he has someone to trust in those times.

      As to my book, I need a few readers to give it a look over. See if it’s even worth reading… too many have said ‘yes’ and I’ve not heard anything back for a year.

      Then you can tell me what it’s about! 😉

      Like

    1. Actually, what I was looking for was a few people to start reading it through, and let me know if (a) it engaged them and if it did (b) from what point it had.

      The book itself is in several parts, the first one of which is free. What I need is to hook people with the first part – which was to be three chapters – only with so many people wanting to read it… and then not reading it, it got me wondering if part 1 shouldn’t be longer…

      IF you’d prefer one chapter… would you like the first chapter or one at random? I have several “treat” chapters that I thought were rather fun.

      Like

  3. Such strong writing by Sarll. You write, “A person’s challenges are equal to their ability to meet them.” It makes me wonder… do you see that as the divine plan in action then? And do you not see death as defeat? Or surrender to torture as failure? Just musing here. Many die and many succumb due to their challenges; have they then spurned their abilities to meet their challenges? Or just missed out somehow? I’m all for the spirit of nothing’s insurmountable, but the realist in me kicks in as well. Thanks for the thought-provoking commentary on the Sarll. And did you mention you might have a lead for me on my hunt for audiobook cover graphics?

    Like

    1. To me there is a point at which one must leave a challenge if it is life threatening. We are here to learn, after all, and we can’t learn if we’re not alive.

      As to death, its real meaning is to give us the impetus to live a fuller life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

